Skip to content
Shropshire Counts — Shropshire, in numbers.Local help →

Shropshire, in numbers

People and living standards

Shropshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Shropshire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 268,716 in 1991 to 333,162 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Shropshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 276,031 people in 1996; 333,162 people in 2025. 20.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Shropshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991268,716
1992269,333
1993269,841
1994272,689
1995274,515
1996276,031
1997274,693
1998277,374
1999279,294
2000281,479
2001283,254
2002284,901
2003286,913
2004288,810
2005291,523
2006294,531
2007297,633
2008300,473
2009302,069
2010304,523
2011307,108
2012307,921
2013308,181
2014309,436
2015310,751
2016312,836
2017315,232
2018317,112
2019319,729
2020321,054
2021324,669
2022327,098
2023329,211
2024331,751
2025333,162
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Shropshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 53,114 people in 1996; 51,248 people in 2025. 3.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Shropshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199152,208
199252,128
199352,393
199452,873
199553,060
199653,114
199752,970
199853,075
199953,640
200053,939
200153,993
200254,080
200354,161
200454,016
200553,913
200653,512
200753,149
200853,183
200952,924
201052,947
201152,939
201252,646
201352,152
201451,753
201551,508
201651,590
201751,757
201851,689
201951,549
202051,373
202151,236
202251,743
202351,989
202451,978
202551,248
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Shropshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 173,779 people in 1996; 191,763 people in 2025. 10.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Shropshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991170,274
1992170,351
1993169,996
1994171,879
1995172,902
1996173,779
1997172,298
1998174,372
1999175,297
2000176,756
2001177,942
2002178,594
2003179,751
2004180,776
2005182,600
2006185,006
2007187,192
2008188,543
2009188,642
2010189,427
2011190,240
2012188,730
2013187,237
2014186,639
2015186,345
2016186,707
2017187,322
2018187,664
2019188,540
2020188,741
2021190,777
2022190,919
2023190,964
2024191,642
2025191,763
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Shropshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 49,138 people in 1996; 90,151 people in 2025. 83.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Shropshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199146,234
199246,854
199347,452
199447,937
199548,553
199649,138
199749,425
199849,927
199950,357
200050,784
200151,319
200252,227
200353,001
200454,018
200555,010
200656,013
200757,292
200858,747
200960,503
201062,149
201163,929
201266,545
201368,792
201471,044
201572,898
201674,539
201776,153
201877,759
201979,640
202080,940
202182,656
202284,436
202386,258
202488,131
202590,151
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 323,607 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Shropshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh4,3241.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,1170.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,8611.2%
White312,87696.7%
Other ethnic group1,4290.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 306,129 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Shropshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White299,87498%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,1680.7%
Asian/Asian British3,0891%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British5800.2%
Other ethnic group4180.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 283,173 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Shropshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White279,74298.8%
Mixed1,1700.4%
Asian/Asian British8390.3%
Black/Black British3430.1%
Chinese/Other1,0790.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 3.1% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Shropshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,823 per person in 1997; £25,151 per person in 2024. 132.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Shropshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,823
199811,298
199911,438
200011,740
200112,014
200212,312
200312,863
200413,444
200513,670
200614,386
200714,776
200815,537
200916,007
201016,015
201116,220
201216,417
201316,774
201417,273
201518,338
201618,586
201718,809
201819,548
201920,314
202020,158
202120,611
202221,670
202323,620
202425,151
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Shropshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 2% in 1997; -3.1% in 2024. 5.1 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Shropshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19972
19984.3
19991.1
2000-1.4
2001-2.9
2002-2.7
2003-1.3
2004-0.9
2005-2.8
2006-1.8
2007-3.7
2008-1.3
20090
2010-0.8
2011-0.5
2012-2.8
2013-4.2
2014-4.5
2015-3.6
2016-3.5
2017-4.5
2018-4.2
2019-3.6
2020-4
2021-5.6
2022-5.6
2023-3.4
2024-3.1
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

56%

21 March 2021 · Shropshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

15.2%

21 March 2021 · Shropshire council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

16.7%

21 March 2021 · Shropshire council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.1%

21 March 2021 · Shropshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£275,000

July 2026 · Shropshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£823

August 2026 · Shropshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.